What is a Certified Specialist?

A certified specialist in oral and maxillofacial surgery indicates that the surgeon has obtained high standards of training and knowledge in the specialty, and has been rigorously tested to ensure that this achievement has been reached.

A certified specialist has completed the following:

  • Graduation from a residency program in oral and maxillofacial surgery
  • Completion of the fellowship exam of the Royal College of Dentists of Canada
  • Obtained a dental specialty license from the appropriate provincial regulatory body

Successful completion of the fellowship exam bestows the designation FRCD(C) (Fellow of the Royal College of Dentists of Canada).

A certified specialist designation in Canada is similar to a board-certified specialist designation in the United States. A dentist in Canada is not recognized as a specialist unless he or she has passed the fellowship exam and obtained a specialty license.

In Canada there are nine recognized dental specialties:

  • Dental Public Health
  • Endodontics
  • Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
  • Oral Medicine and Pathology
  • Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology
  • Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics
  • Pediatric Dentistry
  • Periodontics
  • Prosthodontics

Why choose a Certified Specialist in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery for your care?

The intensive and rigorous training and examination requirements to become a certified specialist help ensure that the doctor has attained a high level of proficiency and expertise in diagnosis and management of conditions of the oral and facial region, including performing surgical procedures.